FDR Committee Announces Inaugural Board of Directors

  • Jan - 21 - 2022


Organization Establishes Independent 501c (3) Status 

Washington, DC (January 21, 2022) – The FDR Memorial Legacy Committee (FDR Committee) announced its inaugural Board of Directors and Board Officers following its Board meeting on January 20, 2022. Since November 2019, when the organization was established, the FDR Committee operated under the fiscal sponsorship of the National Council on Independent Living (NCIL). Effective January 1, 2022, the FDR Committee operates independently as its own standalone 501c (3) recognized by the IRS. 

Elected to serve as Chair of the Board is Helena Berger, long time disability rights leader and past President and CEO of the American Association of People with Disabilities. “It’s been very gratifying to be involved in the development of the FDR Committee these past two years, and I’m honored to assume this new leadership position as Chair of the Board,” said Berger. “The FDR Committee’s mission aligns with my years of advocacy fighting for a society where every person with a disability is valued equally and participates fully. Championing equal opportunity and full participation is one of the lasting legacies of the campaign for disability representation at the FDR Memorial and continues through the work of the FDR Committee.”

Other officers and members of the Board elected include: 

Jane Deland, Vice Chair: Mrs. Deland is a Co-Founder of the FDR Memorial Legacy Committee.

Carlos Avila, Secretary: A former 6th grade teacher, Mr. Avila serves as the Bilingual Multicultural Education Program Specialist with the New Mexico Public Education Department.

Serena Jaros, Treasurer: Ms. Jaros is a disability rights advocate and former Covid Response Coordinator for Independence Now, an independent living center in Prince Georges County, Maryland.

Mary E. Dolan, Executive Director: Ms. Dolan is a Co-Founder and the Executive Director of the FDR Committee.

Christopher Bell: Mr. Bell is Chairman of the Board of Trustees of the University of the District of Columbia and Deputy General Counsel for The Conservation Fund.

Arlene King Berry, J.D.: Dr. King-Berry is a Professor in the Department of Education at the University of the District of Columbia (UDC) where she serves as Chair of the Faculty Senate.

Mary Kay Turner: Mrs. Turner is a retired educator.

“We are grateful to NCIL for believing in us from the beginning and serving as our fiscal sponsor, and to our donors and all of our supporters who have helped us on this growth trajectory.” said Mary E. Dolan, Executive Director, FDR Committee.

FDR Memorial Legacy Committee is a citizen led organization with the mission to promote education about the FDR Memorial in Washington, DC, improve inclusion and accessibility so all visitors can experience the Memorial and preserve the Memorial for future generations.  The organization, borne out of the successful disability led campaign in the 1990s for disability representation at the Memorial, is committed to sharing the diverse perspectives of the Roosevelt era and that era's legacy today.  

Please visit for more information.